Featured Savings Rates
Featured Accounts

BMO Harris Bank Reviews

Average Rating:
Based on 18 reviews

Worst Bank I've Ever Had

Posted by: EricaErin | May 3, 2017

Terrible customer service and endless fees. I used BMO in Canada and it is nothing like BMO Harris. You're honestly better off with any other bank.

Serves No Purpose

Posted by: cdfree | Mar 22, 2017

Not really sure what the point of this bank is. Retail & small business customers get the incompetent customer service of a large bank with electronic banking capabilities that are 7-8 years behind big bank industry standard. Hate to say it but Chase is better in every way.

Opened A CD Account

I recently opened a CD account with BMO Harris Bank. They do not have an online application, so I had to do it all verbally on the phone with one of their reps, which was inconvenient, and I had no way to verify if the information was being entered correctly. I had to wait until I received their documentation in snail mail with the account number, etc. before I could mail them back a check to fund the CD--no ACH funding. They said they would lock the interest rate on the CD until they received the check, but I had nothing in writing stating so. The rep I dealt with was very polite and respectful, but clearly needed more training about opening CD accounts. It all worked out in the end, but not the easiest way to take out a CD, either. They need to catch up with the other internet banks and offer online applications and ACH funding of the account.

Solid Canadian Bank In US

Posted by: Thomas777 | Aug 10, 2016

Overall, BMO Harris is a good bank, with a strong and stable parent company, BMO. However, I feel their products are less competitive then their American counterparts. Many of their products seem more..."international" where everything has a charge or fee. Perhaps we are too use to getting everything for free?

Keep An Eye On Your Accounts...

I was a longtime customer of M&I before Harris BMO takeover. Since BMO, they take "service fees" out of my checking account every month. Each time they admit it is an error but they keep on doing it. If I didn't frequently check on my account, Harris BMO would get away with ripping me off each month. I am looking for another bank which is too bad because I am known to the staff at my local branch and really like them.

Long Time BMO Harris Customer Review

Posted by: ColinG. | Oct 28, 2014

I am a long time customer of BMO Harris, and have found their banking "experience" to be very good overall. First of all, I find their customer service to be exceptional. Every time I have had an issue with a transaction, or needed to talk to a personal banker, I was taken care of immediately and even had multiple follow-up phone calls to make sure I was satisfied with their service. There's also no checking account fees which is nice. Their banking app is also very useful for depositing checks via photo. The only issue I have with this bank is locations. They don't have an abundant amount of locations, and I travel often, so it's slightly inconvenient if I need to stop in at a bank while traveling. other than that, they are a great bank to bank with.

Would Give 0 Stars If It Were Possible.

Have been trying, without success, to set up online access for a school's account for the School Board Treasurer and 3 employees. The banker at the branch suggested the Treasurer just share his login and password with the rest of us (yipes, there goes his fiduciary responsibility).
We've already opened an account with another bank and will close this account as soon as the last check clears-I just hope we have online access by then so we can figure out when that is.

Worst Bank Ever!!!!

BMO Harris acquired the bank I had all my accounts with for 30 plus years-M&I Bank. I was all in with M&I and had all my checking, savings, mortgage, line of credit, credit card, online banking, bill pay and brokerage accounts with them. Of course, all of this stuff moved to BMO Harris when they acquired M&I.
The first thing BMO Harris did was kick me out of Private Banking. Some idiot VP just sent me a letter and said I needed to work with branch personnel moving forward. Next, they called me and said they wanted to close my line of credit account because I was not using it enough.
The online services (online banking, bill pay) were terrible compared to the services I had previously.
At this point, I have closed all my accounts with these clowns and have moved everything to Wells Fargo. I found it absolutely astounding that as I moved all my money and closed all the accounts, no one from BMO Harris ever called me to see if there was a problem.
The morons from BMO (Bank of Montreal) are used to having a monopoly like they do up in Canada. And they don't have a flipping clue what customer friendly means. I find it ironic that the Bank's byline is "We're here to help". What a crock!!!

BMO Banking By Morons

Posted by: Telfa7 | Aug 11, 2014

I have been with this bank for over 16 years now with my current account. Since BMO has taken over M&I the service has plummeted, while the charges and incompetency have increased. Their onine account information is inaccurate by their own supervisor's admission, so why then do they promote it. Everything is done "automatically by computer," but who programs and inputs information into those computers? There are constantly charges appearing on my account, and transactions after normal business hours, who ever heard of transactions occurring around midnight, while my deposits and transactions always seem to be delayed. Moreover, their check system is archaic, and most of the time now my parents can't even use checks at many businesses like Walmart and Petsmart, and neither bank nor business seems to know why. "Well, there might be problems integrating into the U.S. Banking system;-(" There is constant turnover of employees, and the ones that are there are too busy socializing to help the customers, or are downright rude. The Bank may be run by morons, but I won't be one that continues to use them.

BMO Harris Review

Posted by: Matt14 | Jul 23, 2014

I have been banking with BMO Harris (previously M&I) for about ten years now, and I don't have a whole lot of negative things to say. Every time I walk into the bank I always feel welcomed and wanted. The tellers are extraordinary at their jobs, and make me feel appreciated as a customer. I also really like the mobile app that BMO has, as it is extremely user friendly. My favorite part of the app and bank is that I can do a mobile deposit on my checks that I receive, and they have an extremely fast approval time so that I don't even have to go to the bank if I don't have time.

Screwed Again By BMO HARRIS BANK

I banked with M&I BANK for 20+ years and never had a problem. Then they were acquired by BMO HARRIS and it all went down hill.

In the past I spent four hours on the phone with BMO HARRIS due to a compromised account at their bank. Their security department told me what to do and what I needed the local branch to do. I went to the branch and they refused to take the action I was told to have them take. Whet back the next day and complained to the manager who stated they have had other complaints about the person who was taking care of me. So, why is he still there? That next day they took the actions that they were instructed to by their own security department and told me if there was any thing else to come directly to the branch manager. Accounts were closed because of the fact they had been compromised. Other accounts were left open.

One of the accounts left open was a home equality line of credit which had a balance. A few months ago I paid off that balance. Last month I created a new balance because I needed some quick cash. All payments have always been on time and the high four figure balance was paid in full as I said. Today I receive a letter in the mail stating they will be closing this account and that it needs to be paid in full by September 2014. They are willing to reopen a new account at a much higher interest rate if that helps me out.

I have had nothing but a string of bad experiences since M & I Bank was acquired by BMO Harris. I'm done with them. Going back to the local credit unions who want and appreciate your business. Hoping they go back to Canada!

Service Levels Falling

Posted by: Cheermom | Jan 17, 2013

My family has many accounts with Harris (over 9) We use to have our mortgage through them as well. For 2 years we have been trying to refinance. we have a upper 700 credit rating. But 2 years they strong us along. a friend referred me to a broker who was able to get it done within 45 days with an amazing rate.

We also experience issue with customer service. You can never reach anyone on the phone to get assistance. Even for something sinple. You go into the branch and they cant even get ahold of their support.... seriously dont waste your time.....


Posted by: RUGAARO | Jan 8, 2013

Do not be fooled by BMO Harris advertising. You can't trust what they tell you. I had a line of credit set up with them for years for 150 k. Their account rep assured that it would be renewed without any problems. After several attemps to get it renewed they turned around, with no explaination and shut my company off. They demanded payment right away and then proceeded to clear out my company and personal assets with no explaination. They eventually forced my company out of business and me into personal bankruptcy.

If you are looking for an impersonal bank who doesn't care about it's customers, then BMO Harris is the bank for you. On the other hand if you are looking for a bank that will lend you a hand, go any where else but BMO Harris.

Terrible Service

Posted by: jamie | Nov 29, 2012

I have now had several opportunities to interact with Harris or BMO Harris and bottom line is they are about as personal as a firing squad. I will NEVER bank with this organization. They made me wire, for a fee, funds to close on a house and would not take a cashiers check. When my mother died she had a line of credit out. The day she passed they closed the line and immediately charged fees and interest with no opportunity to pay it off. The would not even tell you the amount until you jumped through hoops. Please, Please, for your own benefit, bank anywhere but here.